Skip to content

Facebook Changes Again

September 22, 2011

Alright so we’ve had some major changes to Facebook over the last couple of days.  Aren’t they just lovely?  I suppose the biggest concern when Facebook changes things is always privacy.  How have they affected my privacy this time?

Well I suppose the biggest change is the ticker on the right hand side of the page.  I’m not sure I need to know every single time somebody comments on somebody’s picture or status.  I just don’t think it’s that necessary.  My personal opinion is that I’d like to be able to turn it off entirely, but that’s beside the point.  How can we get rid of some of that “spam” so I don’t have to know what everybody else is doing at every second?

If you take your mouse pointer and you put it over somebody’s name a little box pops up.  It shows you their picture and has two buttons.  One of those buttons says “Subscribe”.  If you now move your mouse pointer over the “Subscribe” button there are a whole bunch of options, all of which are checked off by default.  The big one in there is “Comments and Posts”.  By un-checking that for that specific person you will no longer see their comments and posts in that little ticker.  Now this is a LOT of work.  You have to go through everybody on your contact list and start un-checking that same option for each of them.  That’s no small feat with 300 people on your contact list.  But if you do it for the people that post the most often it will cut down on the spam in the ticker significantly.

Unfortunately you do not have this option with fan pages and group pages.  With those you get to see what they are doing constantly.  Fortunately since it’s not a personal page you are unlikely to see things you don’t want to see.

The other thing we need to do is go back into the Privacy Settings on Facebook and have a look around.  In my opinion the things that should be turned off by default are.  There is no crisis to be averted in that area.  But it never hurts to look around and see if you want to change things.  Specifically look at the way Facebook is handling apps, particularly if you like to play games or check your horoscope.  You can limit the information that Facebook gives to these apps.  In fact you can turn it off entirely now.  So my suggestions is always to make your own decisions and do what’s best for you.

I’ve said before (to others) that if you want complete anonymity and privacy then Facebook is probably not the best place to hang out.  Part of being on a social media website like Facebook is having some of that privacy invaded.  Yes I agree, it’s nice to have control over who sees what, but part of the point of Facebook is to be found if you will.  While I’m not a huge fan of seeing everybody’s every move (I think it’s overkill), I also don’t agree with the idea that I should be able to completely disappear either.  I think there is a happy medium in there somewhere and I think it’s important to find it.  If we really don’t want people to know, then we just don’t put it on Facebook and we don’t post it as a status.  Simple as that.

As always,

The Geeky Teacher

Most people call me Laura.

 

 

From → Archived

One Comment
  1. I really like your writing style, great info , appreciate it for posting : D.

Please leave a reply.

